CVFL ROUND 1 PREVIEW | Castlemaine tackles fired-up Sandhurst in first round


NUMBER one in the past two Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy seasons, Castlemaine kicks off its pursuit of a premiership hat-trick this Sunday.

All four matches across the nine-team league will be played on Sunday.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine makes its way to Ewing Park to play Sandhurst from 1pm.

It’s a huge test for Sandhurst in its league debut against a club which was unbeaten in its run to last year’s grand final victory.

A Sandhurst team coached by Andrew Saladino is one of three newcomers to the senior women’s footy competition.

Weekends will be incredibly busy for Saladino as he coaches Heathcote in the Heathcote DFNL senior men’s competition and then Sandhurst in the CVFL women’s league.

The Sandhurst team for round one includes Amanda Carrod who has joined the Dragons after a 43-game stint with Golden Square; and Chelsea Reeves from Strathfieldsaye Storm.

A player to watch is Eleanor Naylor who has played for Geelong Amateur and Newtown and Chilwell.

Also selected in Sandhurst’s squad for the historic match were Annie Campbell, Imogen and Liv Douglass, Piper Dunlop, Chloe Swatton, Chloe Taylor, and Maddy White.

A powerful Castlemaine team captained by Tianha Cochrane includes Jessica Blake, Tiffany Bradley, Jemma Finning, Eloise Gretgrix, Beppina Marshall, Emma Pedretti, Taylah Sartori.

Newcomers for the Magpies include Brianna Burt from Bendigo Thunder; and Maeve Tupper who previously played for Strathfieldsaye Storm.

Another big match will be Eaglehawk against Bendigo Thunder from 12.45pm at Canterbury Park.

The Molly Metcalf and Geoff West-coached Eaglehawk will be determined to kick on from last year’s third placing.

Eaglehawk’s line-up includes Lexie Moss in the centre, on-ballers Emily Field and Molly Pianta, and an attack led by Rhian and Sienna Hobbs, and Kelly Mensforth.

In defence it’s Krystal Robinson and Jess Dover in the key positions.

Bendigo Thunder is determined to hit back after missing last year’s finals action.

Mick McInnes returns to footy as coach of the Thunder line-up.

A talented team includes captain Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, vice-captains Marguerita Murphy and  Jaime Sawers, Tracey Anderson, Emily Galtieri, Jessica Jackson,  and Hannah Perry.

Thunder will look for plenty of drive from Nikeah Anderson and Estella Murphy from the wings.

Marong or White Hills will claim their first premiership points from their clash in the Panthers den at Marong’s Malone Park from 1.30pm.

David Blume and Jimmy Evenden have teamed up to coach Marong.

The Phil Murley-coached White Hills has plenty of newcomers.

The Demons line-up includes Kayla, Kendall and Zalie Ash; Rindy Sawyer, Britney Worn, Hannah Ripper and Oakley Turner.

North Bendigo is on home turf at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street to take on Woorinen at 1.30pm.

The Ross Egleton-coached Bulldogs will be determined to keep the pressure at a high level across all quarters.

Runner-up in ’23 the Katelyn Hazlett-coached Woorinen has a lot of run and skill.

Players to watch in the yellow and black include captain Tenay Fellows, Casy Unger, Freda Wosomo and Emma Peacock.

Golden Square has the bye.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Bulldogs meet Eagleawk under the Canterbury Park lights next Friday night.

The CVFL now includes an under-18s competition.

Six teams will be in action across Sunday.

Sandhurst takes on Castlemaine at Ewing Park from 11.15am.

Strathfieldsaye faces Woorinen from 10.30am at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

Eaglehawk and White Hills meet on the Borough’s turf at Canterbury Park from 11am.

Golden Square has the bye.