CVFL Seniors Round 4 Review


Castlemaine outplays Golden Square

CASTLEMAINE’S unbeaten run rolled on after an emphatic 62-point win against Golden Square in Saturday night’s to the fourth round in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

The Magpies had home ground advantage at Camp Reserve.

After an inaccurate 1.7 in the first term, Castlemaine scored 5.3 to 1.1 in the second as it held a 38-point buffer by the main break.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies went on to score 4.7 as the vistors added seven behinds in the second half.

At the final siren, Castlemaine led 77-15.

The in-form Eloise Gretgrix kicked five goals as Aisling Tupper added three.

Sole goalkicker for Golden Square was Isabella Ayre.

Best for Castlemaine were Aisling Tupper, Jemma Finning, Maeve Tupper, Rachael Stubbings, Tiahna Cochrane and Chelsea Cole.

Courtney Hingston, Brooke Hutchinson, Isabella Ayre, Gemma Roberts, Liz Watkins and Victoria Winstanley were best for the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square.

In Sunday’s play, Eaglehawk won 70-15 on North Bendigo’s turf at Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street.

The Hawks led 34-7 at half-time.

Quarter three was to the best for the Ross Egleton-coached North Bendigo as it scored 1.2 and the Two Blues added 2.2.

Co-coach of the Hawks team with Geoff West, Molly Metcalf went on to kick a match-high four goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Borough were Molly Pianta, three, and Caitlin Evans, two.

Kira Gibbons and Paige Panzcel were on target for the red, white and blue.

Eaglehawk’s best were Shelby Faulkner, Kelly Mensforth, Caitlin Evans, Eliza Long, Molly Pianta and Lana Westaway.

Heidi Schneider, Ella Dobell, Rhiannon McAdie, Maddie Jelbart and Cassandra Coughlan played well for North Bendigo.

Bendigo Thunder scored an 18-goal win on Marong’s turf at Malone Park.

The Mick McInnes-coached Thunder scored 5.3 in the first quarter and 3.1 in the next.

Lucy El Hage, Hannah Perry and Jaime Sawers all kicked three goals as Thunder won 108-nil.

Best for Thunder were Sawers, El Hage, Acacia Edwards, Nikeah Anderson, Estella Murphy and Emily Galtieri.

Hannah Cue, Caitlin Shaw, Amelia Barker, Bridget Chalkley, Michelle Phillips and Kyrah Paxton worked hard for a Panthers team jointly coached by David Blume and Jimmy Evenden.

Woorinen dominated play at White Hills.

The Katelyn Hazlett-coached Tigers scored 9.6 and kept the Demons scoreless in the opening term.

It was an impressive performance by the yellow and black which scored 56 points in the second quarter and followed up with tallies of 50 and 53.

At the final siren, Woorinen led 219-9.

Gun forwards Samantha Johnston and Brydi Lewis were superb as they kicked 10 goals each.

The Tigers also had Tenay Fellows, five; and Jenna Bannam, three, star in attack.

Kadeisha Smith goaled for White Hills.

Best for Woorinen were Maddy Price, Bannam, Lewis, Ngaire Harlan, Fellows and Katelyn Hazlett.

Rindy Sawyer, Kadeisha Smith, Daisy Gee, Keira Long and Kayla Ash were best for the Phil Murley-coached White Hills.

Sandhurst had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 678 per cent, 16 points; Woorinen 289, 12; Sandhurst 253, 8; Golden Square 249, 8; Eaglehawk 187, 8; Bendigo Thunder 78, 8; White Hills 31, 4; North Bendigo 14, 0; Marong 3, 0.

Round five kicks off Friday night when matches are played at Golden Square and Eaglehawk.

At Golden Square’s Wade Street the Bulldogs will play Marong from 7pm.

Eaglehawk takes on Castlemaine from 7.15pm at Canterbury Park.

In Sunday’s action, Bendigo Thunder faces White Hills from 1pm at Weeroona Oval.

Woorinen hosts Sandhurst from 1pm at Woorinen Recreation Reserve.

North Bendigo has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

24 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

20 Brydi Lewis, Woorinen.

19 Samantha Johnston, Woorinen.

17 Chelsea Reeves, Sandhurst.

12 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

9 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

9 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

9 Freda Wosomo, Woorinen.

8 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

7 Jenna Bannam, Woorinen.

7 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

7 Lily Campbell, Sandhurst.

7 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

7 Lacey Nihill, Sandhurst.

6 Isabella Ayre, Golden Square.

6 Amanda Carrod, Sandhurst.

6 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

6 Sasha Pearce, White Hills.

5 Hannah Perry, Bendigo Thunder.

5 Molly Pianta, Eaglehawk.

5 Victoria Winstanley, Golden Square.