CVFL Seniors Round 3 Review


Key forwards dominate contests

KEY forwards were in hot form across Sunday’s third round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season.

Honours for top goalkicking of the day went to Sandhurst’s Chelsea Reeves who booted nine majors in the Dragons win against White Hills.

Golden Square’s Paynton Jolliffe, seven goals, and Victoria Winstanley, five, capped off many moves in the clash with North Bendigo.

Another big win by Castlemaine featured seven goals by Eloise Gretgrix against Bendigo Thunder at Weeroona Oval.

Woorinen’s Freda Wosomo kicked six goals as the Tigers roared to a big win at home against Marong Panthers.

A great start to Golden Square’s season kept rolling in a 162-7 result against North Bendigo at Golden Square’s Wade Street ground.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square scored seven goals in the opening term and followed with hauls of six, seven and five in the next three teams.

Best for Golden Square were Samantha West, Paynton Jolliffe, Courtney Hingston, Tania Kerrison, Victoria Winstanley and Claire Picone.

Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Aisha Mansfield, Cassandra Coughlan, Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, Heidi Schneider and Maddie Jelbart worked hard for the Ross Egleton-coached North Bendigo.

The clash of league newcomers Sandhurst and White Hills went Sandhurst’s way at Ewing Park.

The Andrew Saladino-coached Sandhurst scored 7.6 to nil in the first quarter.

The Dragons scored 11 goals in the first half and 13 in the second to record a 163-7 victory.

Best for Sandhurst were Maddy White, Lily Campbell, Lacey Nihill, Ruby Campbell, Piper Dunlop and Amanda Carrod.

Rindy Sawyer, Courtney Gibson, Oakley Turner, Amelie Haigh, Daisy Gee and Kadeisha Smith played well for the Phil Murley-coached White Hills.

Castlemaine’s unbeaten run kept rolling.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine marked a 130-14 victory against Bendigo Thunder at Bendigo’s Weeroona Oval.

Aisling Tupper, Brianna Burt, Rachael Stubbings, Ella Cochrane, Eloise Gretgrix and Taylah Sartori starred for the Magpies.

Best for the Mick McInnes-coached Thunder were Lucy El Hage, Marguerita Murphy, Ruby Kelly, Jessica Jackson, Emily Button and Jaime Sawers.

Woorinen capped its first hit-out at home this season by beating Marong by 116 points.

The Tigers led 70-2 at half-time on the way to a 125-9 result the league newcomer.

Best for Woorinen were Freda Wosomo, coach Katelyn Hazlett, Jenna Bannam, Tenay Fellows, Brydi Lewis and Tara Andrews.

Stacie Carbone, Hayley Singleton-Synnott, Regeena Torney, Caitlin Shaw and Dani Jeffery were best for a Marong team jointly coached by David Blume and Jimmy Evenden.

Eaglehawk had the bye.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition:

Castlemaine 723 per cent, 12 points; Golden Square 987, 8; Sandhurst 253, 8; Woorinen 171, 8; Eaglehawk 138, 4; White Hills 67, 4; Bendigo Thunder 34, 0; North Bendigo 12, 0; Marong 3, 0.

Round four kicks off Saturday when Castlemaine hosts Golden Square at Camp Reserve from 5pm.

It’s the clash of the league’s top two teams.

The round will be completed from 1pm on Sunday.

Marong takes on Bendigo Thunder at Marong’s Malone Park.

North Bendigo and Eaglehawk clash at The Bendigo Club Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

White Hills plays Woorinen in the Demons’ den at Scott Street.

Sandhurst has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

19 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

17 Chelsea Reeves, Sandhurst.

11 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

10 Brydi Lewis, Woorinen.

9 Samantha Johnston, Woorinen.

9 Freda Wosomo, Woorinen.

8 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

7 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

7 Lily Campbell, Sandhurst.

7 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

7 Lacey Nihill, Sandhurst.

6 Amanda Carrod, Sandhurst.

6 Sasha Pearce, White Hills.

6 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

5 Isabella Ayre, Golden Square.

5 Victoria Winstanley, Golden Square.