Fairest and best winners to feature in semi-finals


ALL of this season’s fairest and best winners across the under-14 divisions in the IGA-backed Bendigo Junior Football League will feature in this weekend’s semi-finals action.

The first of the BJFL’s vote counts for the 2023 season was held on Wednesday night in the South Bendigo Football Netball Club social rooms at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

There were some closely-fought finishes, including a tie.

In the under-14 girls’ competition, Mia Clark from White Hills polled 28 votes in a season where she kicked 43 goals for the Demons.

A highlight was seven against Kangaroo Flat in the opening round.

Mia moved up to the under-16 age group to represent Bendigo in the Goldfields Challenge match against Ballarat.

The Demons finished the home-and-away series on top of the ladder and will play Sandhurst in this weekend’s second semi-final.

Strathfieldsaye Storm’s Tyce Griffin won a closely-fought contest for the under-14 seniors award.

Tyce was named in Storm’s best in 11 of 16 matches.

He kicked 13 goals and earned votes across 10 games for a tally of 21.

A big season included representing the Bendigo JFL against Ballarat, Goulburn Valley and Murray.

Storm finished the home-and-away series in second place and face Sandhurst in the second semi-final.

Among Tyce’s opponents will be Riley Travaglia and Max Connick who polled 20 and 19 votes to be second and third in the league award.

It was a tie for the under-14 reserves, division one award.

Marong’s Max O’Donnell and Huntly’s Oscar Davies were locked on 18 votes after the final card was called.

Adjudged in the best for the Panthers in six of 15 matches, Max also kicked 15 goals.

Umpires cast votes for Max in eight of 16 games as Marong ended the regular season in third place.

The Panthers won the first semi-final against Castlemaine and will play the loser of the second semi between Huntly and Strathfieldsaye in a preliminary final.

A great season for Oscar Davies included kicking 18 goals which included seven against Kangaroo Flat in the 12th round.

Oscar was named in the Hawks’ best in seven matches.

He polled votes in seven matches for the ladder-leading Hawks.

Huntly takes on Strathfieldsaye in this Sunday’s second semi at Enterprise Oval in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

Oliver Cassidy from Maryborough was a runaway winner of the under-14 reserves, division two award.

In a season where he kicked 45 goals, Oliver was named in the best in all 15 of Maryborough’s matches.

A highlight was seven goals in round 10 against Strathfieldsaye.

Oliver polled votes in 13 games for a tally of 32 as the Magpies finished the home and away series in second place.

Maryborough takes on the ladder-leading South Bendigo in the second semi-final.

The under-14 reserves, division three fairest and best award went to Hamish Landry from Maiden Gully YCW Eagles.

Hamish was named in the Eagles’ best in five matches and kicked 10 goals.

Born in 2011, Hamish is still eligible to play under-12s.

The Eagles finished the home-and-away series in second place and take on first-placed Golden Square in the second semi-final.

Leaders in this season’s Bendigo JFL fairest and best awards:

Under-14 girls:

28 Mia Clark, White Hills.

22 Leni Brown, Sandhurst.

21 Tully Place, Sandhurst.

21 Jordan O’Bree, Strathfieldsaye.

16 Dempsey McDonnell, Strathfieldsaye.

13 Sophie O’Connell, White Hills.

12 Lora Soko, Golden Square.

12 Lucy Gilbee, Kangaroo Flat.

11 Tarlie Davies, Kangaroo Flat.

10 Zoe Hodgskiss, Eaglehawk.

10 Lucy Newton.

Under-14 seniors

21 Tyce Griffin, Strathfieldsaye.

20 Riley Travaglia, Sandhurst.

19 Max Connick, Sandhurst.

17 Logan Wilson, Eaglehawk.

15 Aydan Hand, Strathfieldsaye.

15 Nicholas Harvey, Sandhurst.

14 Mack Skinner, Golden Square.

12 Rylan Newman, South Bendigo.

12 Harry Warne, South Bendigo.

12 Lucas Sharam, Strathfieldsaye.

Under-14 reserves, division one:

18 Max O’Donnell, Marong.

18 Oscar Davies, Huntly.

15 Max Matheson, Castlemaine.

10 Cale James, Rochester.

10 Lorcan Mulryan, Huntly.

9 Levi Bruce, Castlemaine.

9 Jackson Young, Strathfieldsaye.

8 Blake Wells, Marong.

8 Harper Kneebone, Castlemaine.

Under-14 reserves, division two:

32 Oliver Cassidy, Maryborough.

22 Benjamin Jorgensen, White Hills.

17 Tommy Byrne, Sandhurst.

17 Dechlan Bridges, Maryborough.

16 Noah Poole, South Bendigo.

13 Miller Flett, South Bendigo.

12 Ryder Marriott, Huntly.

7 Anthony Callanan, Huntly.

7 Harry Morrish, White Hills.

Under-14 reserves, division three:

16 Hamish Landry, Maiden Gully.

15 Spencer Snell, Golden Square.

15 Paw Si, South Bendigo.

12 Ryan Mitchell, Kangaroo Flat.

12 Darcy Martin, Golden Square.

10 Jackson Thatcher, Kangaroo Flat.

9 Cade McKay, Golden Square.

8 Tye Ahearn, Golden Square.

6 Ted Coombs, South Bendigo.

Another big weekend of action for the BJFL kicks off Friday night when the under-12 girls contest preliminary finals at Winslow Constructors Oval in Scott Street, White Hills.

The Bendigo JFL involves hundreds of players and it’s major partners are IGA, Cavalier Homes Bendigo, and Bendigo Bank.

Venues for this Sunday’s second semi-finals are Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve, Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park, and the neighbouring Triple M Park and Enterprise Oval in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.