FOR just the second time in its time in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL, Gisborne will chase back-to-back A-grade netball premierships in 2024.

Last September it was Gisborne which stopped Sandhurst’s charge to a fifth consecutive premiership as it netted a 40-39 victory on the court adjacent to Queen Elizabeth Oval.

It was Gisborne’s first A-grade title since it beat Kangaroo Flat by a goal a decade earlier.

Most of this year’s premiership team has signed on with the Gardiner Reserve-based Bulldogs.

Among them are co-captains Kirby Elliott and Claudia Mawson.

The inaugural winner of the Rymer Black medal which honours Noelene Rymer and Sharon Black as A-grade fairest and best, Zoe Davies will also be back on court.

It will be a busy year for Tarryn Rymer who will assistant coach of the Bendigo Strikers 23-under team in the Victorian Netball League.

The Strikers’ squad includes goalshooter Tori Skrijel and Eloise Rodda.

A Sandhurst line-up coached by Tamara Gilchrist will be hungry to reclaim its crown.

A formidable team in maroon and blue includes Heather Oliver, Charlotte and Imogen Sexton, Ruby Turner and Meg Williams who have been selected in the Bendigo Strikers championship squad.

Centre or wing attack, Shae Clifford is in the Strikers 23-under team.

After two great seasons in which it has finished fourth and third, Castlemaine will be keen to keep climbing.

The Magpies have appointed Chloe Hughes, a premiership winner with Shepparton United, as the A-grade coach.

Hughes takes charge after the successful run led by Fiona Fowler and Gary Cooke.

Among the many young stars at Castlemaine is defender Megan Wilson who will play midweek for Bendigo Strikers 23-under and for the Magpies on Saturdays next season.

Stung by consecutive defeats in this year’s finals series, Kangaroo Flat will be desperate to bounce back.

The Roos re-appointed Jayden Cowling for a two-year term.

In 2024, Cowling will coach the Roos and also the Bendigo Strikers 23-under team.

A strong Roos’ squad includes Betty Thompson medallists Chelsea Sartori and Ash Ryan, and Milly Wicks.

All three are in the Strikers championship squad.

A multiple premiership  winner, Alicia McGlashan, marks a debut as senior coach at South Bendigo.

McGlashan has played a key role at the club where she teamed up with long-time coach Jannelle Hobbs where they had plenty of success at Kangaroo Flat.

The club has appointed Lynley Strachan as assistant coach.

Ella Flavell returns to the Bloods from Strathfieldsaye and will play a key role for a club based at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

Talented goalshooter Chloe Langley is in the Bendigo Strikers 23-under squad.

Players to watch in the red and white include Maggie Burke, Carissa Brook and Claudia Griffiths.

Other coaching appointments are Marita Eddy, A-reserve; Vicki Brook, B-squad; and Amber Hollis, 17-under.

Sixth last season, Strathfieldsaye Storm will be aiming to surge into the top five.

Storm’s squad was bolstered by the signing of the Mangan sisters, Brooke, Jess and Rachelle from Kyneton.

The Kyneton Tigers have made the move to the Riddell DNFL.

After just one in the first half of the season the Kylie Piercy-coached Eaglehawk finished strongly to claim another four victories and some closely-fought losses.

Piercy will again take charge of the Hawks A-grade team.

Among the rising stars at the Borough is Jasmin Gallagher who a development player with the Bendigo Strikers 23-under team.

Eaglehawk’s coaching panel for next season is Kim Schepers, A-reserve; Paige Combridge, B-grade; Lisa Moore, B-reserve; and Vanessa Saunders, 17-under.

A Carol Sing medallist as the league’s 17-under fairest and best in 2017, Maggie Tranter steps up to be Maryborough’s new A-grade coach.

Tranter takes charge of a squad which was coached by Jordan Macilwain.

Talented youngsters for the Princes Park-based club include Ella Patten, this season’s Carol Sing medallist, as well as Millie Cassidy and Abby Nalder.

At Golden Square, Chris O’Sullivan has taken on the big role as coach of A-grade and A-reserve.

Another crucial appointment was Teigan Redwood as director of coaching.

It’s been a couple of tough seasons for a young squad.

A high for the club in 2023 was third placing by the 17-under team.