HDFNL Round 3 Football Preview


Bombers face task on North Bendigo’s turf

FEW teams have taken the premiership points off North Bendigo in recent senior footy seasons in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL.

On Saturday it will be Leitchville Gunbower which makes its way to the Bulldogs kennel at the newly-named The Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street.

Both teams carry winning form into the round three clash which starts at 2.15pm.

The Rob Bennett-coached North Bendigo won at Elmore by 58 points as LG bounced back to beat Colbinabbin by a goal at Gunbower.

Major strength of the Bulldogs is the marking power of Dylan Klemm, Jordan Ford and Cody Riddick in attack.

The running power and skill of Billy Robertson, Ryan Hartley and Bailey Cain was a highlight of the Dogs’ win at Elmore.

The experienced Aarryn Craig, Ryan Alford, Matt Gray and Jake Hall were all stung by last season’s consecutive defeats in the finals.

The Shannon Keam-coached Bombers capped a brilliant run into last year’s finals action.

When the Bombers last met North Bendigo it was ruckman Jobee Warde who dominated.

The play of Warde, Thomas Guerra, Jye Keath, Nathan McLellan and Chris Horman will be crucial in upsetting the Bulldogs.

Other players to watch in the LG team include Caleb Hislop, Max Hagan, and Tom, James and Will Brereton.

Colbinabbin takes on  the ladder-leading Heathcote on the Grasshoppers’ ground at M.J. Morgan Oval.

The Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin put in a great effort at Gunbower where Nathan and Aidan Basile, Jude Ryan and Alex Van Ruiswyk led the way.

Massive task for Colbo defenders Hugh McMurtrie, Nick Knight, Connor Aldous and Angus Martin up against Corey Grindlay, Braden Padmore, Zak Saad and Cooper Webber-Mirkin.

Ruckman Patrick Taban has a huge role to play against the athletic James Orr, while Jed Brain and captain Will Lowe oppose Saints’ stars Liam Jacques and Codie Price.

Colbinabbin will look to Alex Carr, Jai Carn and Clint Shields to finish off attacking moves.

The feat will not be easy against a tight-knit defence led by Daniel Johnstone, Bill Direen and Connor Hamilton.

Lockington Bamawm United will strive to end White Hills winning streak when they clash at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval.

The Cats are on the rebound from defeat on Heathcote’s turf at Pigeon Park in Barrack Reserve.

Aiming to hit back after missing last year’s finals, the Stacy Fiske-coached LBU has ruckman Tyler Phillips, Brodie and Jesse Collins, Anthony McMahon and Charlie Hinks leading the charge.

The Cats defence is up against the in-form James Davies, Cohen Kekich and Demons co-coach Kaiden Antonowicz.

Best for the Demons in their home win against Mount Pleasant included Callum Crisp, Alex Davis, Jack Lawton and Jake Pallpratt.

A talented team from White Hills includes Liam Bartels, Thomas Brereton, co-coach Jack Fallon, Rhys Irwin and Nick Warnock.

Nil-two in its pursuit of back-to-back premierships, Mount Pleasant will start favourite against the Harlowe Huntly Hawks at Toolleen.

Been a tough start for the Cam Carter-coached Mounts against Heathcote, home, and White Hills, away.

The Blues best against the Demons were Ben Bisset, Daniel Frame and Riley McNamara.

A talented Mounts team includes ruckman Chris Down, Daniel and Michael Whiting, Mitch Rovers, Caelan Smith and Reardon McIvor.

The Bulldogs also have Golden Square premiership winner Jack Hickman in an on-ball role.

Huntly is back in action following the bye.

Best for the Hawks in the round one clash on home turf against White Hills were Tori Ferguson, coach Hamish Morcom, Jarrod Spry and Jackson Fry.

The Hawks team to tackle the Blues includes captain Steve Kairn, Dale Lowry, Ben Daley, Harry McCormick and Lachy Wilson.

Huge plus is the return of former coach Harry Whittle who started the season in the reserves following an interrupted pre-season.

Elmore has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Heathcote 184 per cent, 8 points; White Hills 182, 8; North Bendigo 182, 4; Colbinabbin 168, 4; Lockington Bamawm United 81, 4; Leitchville Gunbower 78, 4; Mount Pleasant 68, 0; Huntly 48, 0; Elmore 45, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

12 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

8 Alex Carr, Colbinabbin.

8 Zak Saad, Heathcote.

7 James Harney, Elmore.

6 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

6 Stuart Taylor, Lockington Bamawm United.

5 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

4 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

4 James Davies, White Hills.

4 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

4 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

4 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

3 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

3 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

3 Blake Dye, Leitchville Gunbower.

3 Chris Hatzis, Mount Pleasant.

3 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

3 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

3 Nathan Kay, Elmore.

3 Hamish Morcom, Huntly.

3 Charles Ryan, Colbinabbin.

3 Clint Shields, Colbinabbin.