HDFNL Round 4 Football Review


Bulldogs run against Heathcote rolls on

NORTH Bendigo’s remarkable winning streak against Heathcote rolled on in Saturday’s fourth round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL senior footy action.

Although the Saints had home ground advantage at Pigeon Park in Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve it was the Dogs who made a hot start to the contest.

Chasing a 20th consecutive victory against Heathcote, North Bendigo slammed on 6.5 to just two behinds in the opening term.

The dominance of the Rob Bennett-coached North Bendigo, especially in midfield and the on-ball duels stunned the Saints.

Heathcote hit back to win the next two quarters, 52-48, but the Dogs finished full of running to score 5.7 to 1.5 in the last.

At the final siren North Bendigo led 126-65 against the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints.

The Bulldogs’ attack was led by Dylan Klemm, four; Hakeem Johnson, three; Jake Dean, Billy Robertson and Nic Waterson, two.

Multiple goalkickers for Heathcote were Jackson Conforti, Corey Grindlay and Billy Price on two.

Best for the Bulldogs were wingmen Nic Waterson and Riley Paetow, ruckman Aidan Brohm, key defender Matt Gray, Cody Riddick and Tyson Findlay.

The Saints’ best were ruckman James Orr, Jackson Conforti, Liam Jacques, Rhys Bolton, Bill Direen and Tim Long.

Huntly’s Hamish Morcom marked the first victory of his coaching career as the Hawks beat Lockington Bamawm United by 34 points.

The Harlowe Huntly Hawks won three quarters and drew the other in the clash with the Cats at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

After an inaccurate 3.6 in the first term, Huntly turned a 10-point lead into 29 by half-time as it added 5.3 to 2.2 in the second.

Both teams scored 3.2 in the third quarter.

The Hawks kicked on to win 90-56.

Key forward Lachy Wilson capped off many moves with five goals as Abe Sladden added two.

LBU’s attack was led by Anthony McMahon and Tyler Phillips on two.

Huntly’s best were Abe Sladden, Dale Lowry, Lachy Wilson, Darby Walsh, Mitch Avard and Jackson Fry.

Jeremy Mundie, Brodie Collins, Jacob Gardiner, Taylor Butler, Tyler Phillips and Charlie Hinks were best for the Stacy Fiske-coached Cats.

Leitchville Gunbower marked an eight-goal win against Elmore at Gunbower.

The Shannon Keam-coached Bombers led 34-21 at quarter-time and then scored 4.4 as the Bloods added a goal in the second.

Although Elmore won the third, 20-14, LG led 76-47 going into the last term.

Fraser Buchanan kicked four goals as Tom Brereton and Nathan McLellan added three each in a 96-48 victory for the Bombers.

Elmore’s leading goalkicker was Joseph Harney on four as Jordan Thomson chipped in with two.

Best for Leitchville Gunbower were Mitch Candy, Fraser Buchanan, Brady Hore, Brad Green, James and Tom Brereton.

Cobi Fitzpatrick, James Harney, Daniel Russell, Jordan Thomson, Jake Dick-O’Flaherty and Kyle Armstrong were best for the Bloods.

White Hills marked a 12-goal victory against Colbinabbin in the Demons’ den in Scott Street.

The Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin did plenty of attacking in the first, but was wayward as the Grasshoppers scored 1.6 to 1.2.

In the second the Demons fired up to score 5.3 to 2.1.

The Jack Fallon and Kaiden Antonowicz-coached White Hills dominated the second half.

Inspired by the play of Ryan Walker, Alex Davis and Tom Brereton, White Hills scored 10.10 to 2.2.

At the final siren the Demons led 111-39.

Antonowicz, Fallon and Nick Warnock all kicked three goals.

Alex Carr booted two goals for Colbinabbin.

The Demons’ best included Warnock, Mitch Dole and Callum Crisp.

Colbinabbin’s best were Nathan Basile, Jude Ryan, Alex Carr, Will Lowe, Angus Martin and Alex Van Ruiswyk.

Mount Pleasant had the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

White Hills 247 per cent, 16 points; North Bendigo 210, 12; Heathcote 150, 12; Leitchville Gunbower 78, 8; Mount Pleasant 118, 4; Colbinabbin 69, 4; Huntly 56.9, 4; Lockington Bamawm United 56.3, 4; Elmore 46, 0.

Match of the day in Saturday’s fifth round will be North Bendigo against White Hills at Bendigo Club Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street from 2.15pm.

Elmore faces a fired-up Heathcote at Elmore Recreation Reserve.

Colbinabbin tackles a Huntly line-up chasing back-to-back wins in their match on Colbo’s turf at M.J. Morgan Oval.

Lockington Bamawm United is home at Nichol Trading Oval to take on Mount Pleasant.

Leitchville Gunbower has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

21 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

14 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

13 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

12 Alex Carr, Colbinabbin.

11 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

10 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

10 Zak Saad, Heathcote.

7 Ben Bisset, Mount Pleasant.

7 James Davies, White Hills.

7 Jake Dean, North Bendigo.

7 James Harney, Elmore.

7 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

7 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

6 Christian Hatzis, Mount Pleasant.

6 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

6 Stuart Taylor, Lockington Bamawm United.

6 Cooper Webber-Mirkin, Heathcote.

5 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

5 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

5 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

5 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

5 Nathan McLellan, Leitchville Gunbower.

5 Jake Miller, White Hills.

5 Nick Warnock, White Hills.