NCFL Round 7 Review


Redbacks tie with Bulls at Wedderburn

AN 82-ALL draw was played out between Wedderburn and Birchip-Watchem in Saturday’s seventh round of Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy action.

The Redbacks and Bulls played a cracking contest at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

Aiming to mark seven consecutive victories, the unbeaten Birchip-Watchem led 46-23 at half-time.

Although Wedderburn hit back to win the third term, 33-27, the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls held a 17-point buffer going into the last quarter.

It was the Tom Metherell-coached Redbacks who lifted their play to score 4.2 in the last.

Strong defensive efforts by the Burners held the ladder leaders to a tally of 1.3.

At the final siren both teams were on identical scores of 12.10 (82).

Wedderburn’s attack was led by Oscar Holt, four goals; Anthony Zelencich, three; and Hamish Lockhart and Mitch McEwen, two.

Bulls’ star Ben Edwards kicked four goals as Meyrick Buchanan chipped in with two.

Best for Wedderburn were Oscar Holt, Darcy Jackson, Jordan Hargreaves, Jackson McEwen, Joe and Hamish Lockhart.

Birchip-Watchem’s best were Meyrick Buchanan, Angus Butterfield, Daniel Bell, Darcy Reid, Nicholas Rippon and Sam Simmons.

Nullawil won a hard-fought contest at Boort Park by nine points.

The Dale Cameron-coached Boort made a flying start to the match as it scored 7.2 to 1.2.

In the second it was the Darryl Wilson-coached Nullawil which hit back.

The Maroons scored 8.1 to 2.0.

Nullawil led by a goal going into the last term and added 3.5 to 3.0 to complete a 78-39 victory.

The classy Jack Exell kicked five goals for the Maroons as Mitch Farmer chipped in with two.

Boort’s attack was led by Frasier Holland and James Keeble, three; Jhye Baddeley-Kelly and Jarrod Fitzpatrick, two.

Nullawil’s best were Daniel Watts, Zac Caccaviello, Andrew Oberdorfer, Lucas Caccaviello, Dean Smith and Jack Exell.

Matt Austin, Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Keiren Wilson, Natnael McLaren, James Byrne and Jayden Dick starred for the Magpies.

Donald kicked clear in the second half to win at Charlton Park by 31 points.

The Josh Potter-coached Donald was under pressure in the first half.

By the long break the Royals led 38-28.

An evenly-fought third term went Donald’s way, 14-9.

Led by the play of Ryley Barrack, Andrew Browne and Dale Kerr it was Donald which scored 4.4 and held the Navies to a tally of two goals in the last.

Trent Grant kicked five goals as Blake Grant and Dale Kerr chipped in with two each in an 80-49 victory.

Chris Gavaghan and Bailey Kemp booted two goals for the Mitch Collins-coached Charlton.

Best for Donald were Ryley Barrack, Andrew Browne, Dale Kerr, Ryan Hards, Trent Grant and Tom Heuston.

A list of Charlton’s best was not supplied.

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers dominated their home game against St Arnaud at Sea Lake Oval.

The Tigers led 57-8 by half-time and scored 12.7 to 1.3 in the final hour to complete a 136-17 victory.

Tigers’ co-coach Billy McInnes kicked four goals as Thomas Cox and Brody Weir added three each and Lachy McClelland and Tyson McKenzie added two.

Mitch Egan and Jackson Needs were on target for the Saints.

Best for a Tigers team jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico were Thomas Cox, Jack Poulton, Wade Donnan, Brody Weir, Kane Donnan and Max Cahoon.

Mitch Egan, Brayden Phillips, Jake Male, Jake Hicks, Harley Durward and Matt Goode worked hard for the Scott Driscoll-coached Saints.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Birchip-Watchem 203 per cent, 26 points; Sea Lake Nandaly 187, 24; Donald 111, 16; Wedderburn 145, 14; Nullawil 109, 12; Wycheproof-Narraport 88, 12; Boort 71, 8; Charlton 44, 0; St Arnaud 34, 0.

Round eight will be played on the King’s Birthday holiday weekend.

Crucial test for Nullawil at home against Wedderburn.

Birchip-Watchem tackles Wycheproof-Narraport at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

St Arnaud and Charlton meet at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

Donald is on home turf against Boort.

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

47 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

21 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

21 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

19 Trent Grant, Donald.

19 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

18 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

18 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

17 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

13 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

12 Joseph Reid, Birchip-Watchem.

10 Lachy McClelland, Sea Lake Nandaly.