LVFNL Round 16 Football preview | Mean Machine revs up for clash with Bears


BRIDGEWATER faces the third-placed Bears-Lagoon Serpentine in Saturday’s 16th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL season.

The Mean Machine is on home turf at Bridgewater to tackle the Bears.

Last week’s 10-point victory at Calivil ensured Bridgewater would contest another finals series.

When the Mean Machine played BLS in round seven it was the Bears who marked a 40-point victory.

Key players for the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater include Harry Donegan, Darcy Wood, James and Nic Naughton, and Charlton Hindle.

The Mean Machine also has the experience of Alex Pollock, Zane Hoiles and Tyler Estrada.

The Bears are on the rebound from a 130-point loss to Marong.

It’s a situation many teams have been in this season.

The Bears line-up bound for Bridgewater includes Andy Gladman, Charlie and Harry Gadsden, Aidan Brohm and Orion Downing.

Others to play key roles are coach Justin Laird, Beau Roy-Clements, Steve Gladman and Kalam Paxton.

Calivil United and Mitiamo meet in the Demons’ den at Calivil Recreation Reserve.

Both teams are on the rebound from defeat.

The Anthony Dennis-coached Calivil United played well to finish within 10 points of Bridgewater last Saturday.

Ben Baker kicked three goals in the Demons’ latest hit-out as Lachlan Brook and Anthony Dennis added two each.

Players to watch for Calivil United include Mitch Avard, Jake Lawry, Jack Maher, Cody Thompson and Hamish Wall.

The Demons also have the experience of Henry Miller, Blair Richards and Jordan Lea.

A three-game winning streak for the Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo was ended at Pyramid Hill’s Mitchell Park last round.

The Superoos are sixth on a 4-9 record.

Mitiamo has had Luke Lougoon, Ross Turner and Dylan Clohesy lead superbly all season.

The Superoos will look for big games from the likes of Brayden Baines, Tom Campbell, Andrew Cussen, Zach Morrison and Doug Thomas.

Newbridge and Inglewood clash at Newbridge’s Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

The Maroons won their latest hit-out against Maiden Gully YCW by 11 points.

Coached by Sam Gale, playing, and Daniel Smith, non-playing, Newbridge will eye a chance to move up a rung should Mitiamo be beaten.

Key players for the Maroons include Tyler McLeod and Dylan Lloyd in defence, captain Angus Fortune, ruckman William Copland, and rover Will Daly.

Key match-ups for the Maroons include Caleb Argus in the centre against Bregon Cotchett, David Romer at centre half-back against Tration Kendal, and Patrick Andrews as ruck-rover against Fergus Payne.

The Darrell Billett-coached Blues had the bye after a 47-point win against Maiden Gully YCW.

Players to watch for the Blues include Keelan Payne at full-forward, ruckman Thomas Kennedy, Cody Wright on a wing, and Gabe Nevins in attack.

Inglewood also has Daniel and Sam Polack, Cody Stobaus and Callum March capable of winning many possessions.

Pyramid Hill is back on home turf at Mitchell Park to take on Maiden Gully YCW.

The Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Bulldogs dominated last Saturday’s home game against Mitiamo.

Jesse Sheahan kicked eight goals against the Superoos and will test the Eagles’ defence.

A strong team representing Pyramid Hill includes Brodie Carroll, Dylan Collis, Thomas Hetherington, Lachlan Sidebottom and Declan Slingo.

Other players to watch in the red, white and blue are Bryden and Dylan Morison, Zach Alford, Adrian Holland and Seb Relouw.

Huge challenge for the Jay McDonald-coached Eagles who played well at Newbridge last round.

The Eagles will rely a lot on the play of captain Hamish McCartney, and experience of Tyler Miles and Damian Wust.

In last week’s clash it was Daniel Bice and Caleb Flood who both chipped in with two goals for the Eagles.

Maiden Gully YCW’s team to tackle the Dogs includes Ed Crisp, Brandon Dimech, Cooper Hale and Ryan Strauch.

Marong has the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 589 per cent, 56 points; Pyramid Hill 181, 44; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 113, 36; Inglewood 104, 28; Bridgewater 85, 28; Mitiamo 56, 16; Newbridge 48, 16; Calivil United 53, 8; Maiden Gully YCW 50, 8.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

99 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

45 Kain Robins, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

38 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

34 Matt Riordan, Marong.

30 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

29 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

29 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

29 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

26 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

25 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

24 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

24 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

22 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

20 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

20 Jack McCaig, Marong.

19 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

19 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

19 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

18 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

16 Brayden Baines, Mitiamo.

16 Brandon Dimech, Maiden Gully YCW.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

15 Kyle Manley, Marong.

15 Caleb Sanders, Newbridge.