LVFNL Round 17 Football Review | Grenfell reaches century as Marong marks 50th Birthday


GUN forward Brandyn Grenfell passed the century once again as Marong marked its Golden Jubilee in Saturday’s 17th round of the Bendigo Bank Loddon Valley FNL senior footy action.

Grenfell started the clash with Bridgewater at Marong’s Malone Park needing a goal to bring up a century in consecutive seasons.

The star forward did so as the Panthers marked a 146-point victory.

Just as impressive as Marong’s attacking play to score 23.25 (163) was the defensive work rate to limit Bridgewater to a score of 2.5 (17).

The Panthers led 5.6 to 1.1 at quarter-time and 72-14 by the main break.

As Marong added 13.13 in the second half the Mean Machine added just three behinds.

Jacob Ede was to be Marong’s leading goalkicking on the day with five as Brandyn Grenfell and Ryley Taylor added four each.

Other multiple goalkickers for the unbeaten  Panthers were Kyle Manley, three; and Richard Tibbett, two.

Tyler Estrada and Nic Naughton were on target for Bridgewater.

Best for the Linton Jacobs-coached Marong were Jacob Ede, Ben Gregg, Ryley Taylor, Richard Tibbett, Matt Grant and Lachlan Lee.

Hamish Terry, Ben Irvine, Darcy Wood, Nic Naughton and Charlton Hindle worked hard for the Rick Ladson-coached Bridgewater.

The Pyramid Hill Bulldogs won at Inglewood’s Dissy Machinery Oval by 25 points.

The Dogs led 33-14 at quarter-time before the Blues fired up to win the second term, 20-14.

A 13-point lead for the Nathan Fitzpatrick-coached Pyramid Hill at half-time was 34 by the last change after it scored 5.4 to 2.1 in the third term.

Inglewood won the last, 26-17, but it was Pyramid Hill which took the points in a 98-73 result.

Will Perryman starred in the Bulldogs’ attack with six goals as Zach Alford and Jack Woodward kicked two each.

The Blues’ attack was led by Fergus Payne, three; Alex Lowe and Keelan Payne, two.

Best for Pyramid Hill were Seb Relouw, Will Perryman, Zach Alford, Tom McGregor, Thomas Hetherington and Lachlan Sidebottom.

Fergus Payne, Daniel Polack, Bregon Cotchett, Cody Stobaus, Jayden Leach and Jaspa Wendels played well for the Darrell Billett-coached Blues.

Maiden Gully YCW marked a 19-point win against Calivil United at Marist College Bendigo Oval.

The Anthony Dennnis-coached Calivil United led 21-6 at quarter-time.

In the second it was the Eagles who scored 5.5 to a goal.

The Jay McDonald-coached Maiden Gully YCW led 49-48 at the start of the final term and then finished strongly to score 4.1 to 1.1.

At the final siren the Eagles led 74 to 55.

Brandon Dimech kicked a match-high four goals for the Eagles as Cooper Hale and Tyler Miles added two each.

Mitch Avard and Thomas Piazza booted three and two goals for the Demons.

The Eagles’ best were Tyler Miles, Sam Keneally, Brandon Dimech, Corey Walsh, Hamish McCartney and Mathew Crooks.

Jake Lawry, Cody Thompson, Mitch Avard, Rhys Lourie, Kane Newton and Jack Maher played well for Calivil United.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine unleashed a brilliant final quarter at Mitiamo’s John Forbes Oval to beat the Superoos by 62 points.

At a quarter to play the Bears led 81-57.

In the last the Justin Laird-coached BLS slammed on 6.4 to just two behinds for a 121-59 result.

James Rippingale kicked a match-high four goals for BLS as Harry Gadsden chipped in with three.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Bears were Clay Anstee, James Bailey, Callum Draper and Justin Laird on two.

Mitiamo’s attack was led by Andrew Cussen, three; and Brayden Baines, two.

Best for the Bears were Harry Gadsden, James Bailey, Justin Laird, Anthony Lewin, James Rippingale and Beau Roy-Clements.

Luke Lougoon, Zac Morrison, Daniel Walters, Andrew Cussen, Waylon Draper and Ross Turner played well for the Jon Varcoe-coached Mitiamo.

Newbridge had the bye.

Loddon Valley FNL senior footy ladder:

Marong 605 per cent, 60 points; Pyramid Hill 176, 52; Bears-Lagoon Serpentine 119, 44; Inglewood 105, 32; Bridgewater 75, 28; Mitiamo 57, 16; Newbridge 48, 16; Calivil United 57, 12; Maiden Gully YCW 54, 12.

In next Saturday’s final round of the home and away series, Marong plays Mitiamo at Marong’s Malone Park from 2.15pm.

Bears-Lagoon Serpentine is in the den at Gadsden Finance Serpentine Reserve to play Maiden Gully YCW.

Newbridge hosts Pyramid Hill at Beck Legal Riverside Oval.

Calivil United faces Inglewood at Calivil Recreation Reserve.

Bridgewater has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

103 Brandyn Grenfell, Marong.

46 Kain Robins, Marong.

42 Ryley Taylor, Marong.

39 Josh Martyn, Bridgewater.

34 Will Perryman, Pyramid Hill.

34 Matt Riordan, Marong.

33 Justin Laird, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

30 Andy Gladman, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

30 Charlie McGaw, Inglewood.

30 Keelan Payne, Inglewood.

30 Jay Reynolds, Mitiamo.

28 Zach Alford, Pyramid Hill.

24 Andrew Cussen, Mitiamo.

24 Bailey George, Pyramid Hill.

23 James Bailey, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

22 Ben Baker, Calivil United.

22 Brandon Dimech, Maiden Gully YCW.

22 Jesse Sheahan, Pyramid Hill.

21 Nathan Devanny, Marong.

20 Jack McCaig, Marong.

19 Brayden Baines, Mitiamo.

19 Chris Dixon, Newbridge.

19 Harry Gadsden, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

18 Sam Dorevitch, Inglewood.

18 Kyle Manley, Marong.

18 Daniel Polack, Inglewood.

17 Caleb Sanders, Newbridge.

16 Jake Lawry, Calivil United.

15 Thomas Brennan, Pyramid Hill.

15 Tyler Miles, Maiden Gully YCW.

15 James Rippingale, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

15 Caleb Sanders, Newbridge.

14 Bregon Cotchett, Inglewood.

14 Mitch Dingwall, Pyramid Hill.

14 Callum Draper, Bears-Lagoon Serpentine.

14 Nic Naughton, Bridgewater.

13 Dylan Collis, Pyramid Hill.