NCFL Round 12 Review


Nullawil marks vital win against Donald

NULLAWIL marked a vital win against Donald in Saturday’s 12th round of the Goldacres North Central senior footy action.

The Daryl Wilson-coached Nullawil was on home turf to take on Donald.

Victory was important for the Maroons to keep the heat on Wedderburn in the fight to be fourth and in the finals series.

Donald charged to a 32-18 lead by quarter-time.

Nullawil hit back to win the second, 26-15, as the Royals led 47-44 by the main break.

A closely-fought third quarter went Donald’s way as it added 4.3 to 4.2.

An attack led by Adam Thomson, Mitch Farmer and Matt Wade capped off Nullawil’s dominance across the final term.

The Maroons slammed on 5.4 and held the visitors to a tally of 1.2 to complete a 104-82 victory.

Leading goalkickers for Nullawil were Thomson, five; Wade, three; Farmer and Rylee Collins, two each.

Jamie Papalia kicked four goals as coach Josh Potter and Ross Young added two majors for Donald.

Best for Nullawil were Matthew Wade, Dean Putt, David Isbister, Adam Thomson, Hunter Lawrence and Zachary Caccaviello.

Jesse Wallin, Ross Young, Dyson Bell-Warren, Josh Potter, Jamie Papalia and Ryan Bath were Donald’s best.

Wedderburn kept Charlton to a goal as the Redbacks scored an 87-point victory on their turf at Donaldson Park.

After a wasteful first quarter in which it scored 2.6, Wedderburn added 4.3 in the second to lead by six goals at the main break.

Four goals in the third and another four in the last completed an emphatic win for the Tom Metherell-coached Redbacks as they hit the century mark in a 100-13 result.

Tom Campbell led the attack on five goals as Junior Miller booted three and Jake Hayes and Joe Lockhart added two.

Billy Sexton was on target for Charlton.

Best for Wedderburn were captain Joe Lockhart, Tom Campbell, Jackson McEwen, Darcy Jackson, Danny Benaim and Junior Miller.

Ben Lanyon, Bailey Dixon, Patrick Soulsby, Billy Sexton, Jed Thompson and Kade Blow were best for the Mitch Collins-coached Navies.

Wycheproof-Narraport could not halt Sea Lake Nandaly’s charge to an 81-point win.

Although the Demons were on home turf at Wycheproof it was the Tigers who made a brilliant start to lead 30-9 by quarter-time.

A 33-point buffer for the yellow and black at half-time became nine goals at a quarter to play after it scored 5.4 to 2.1 I the third.

Sea Lake Nandaly had racked up 23 scoring shots in the opening three terms as the Demons rued their inaccurate tally of 3.11.

Six goals in the last completed a 123-42 win for the reigning premier.

Max Cahoon led the Tigers’ attack on four goals as Thomas Cox, Matt Elliott and Brody Weir added three each.

Other multiple goalkickers for SLN were captain Ryan O’Sullivan and Will Simpson with two.

Demons’ coach Wayne Mitrovic led the attack on two goals.

Best for the Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes-coached Sea Lake Nandaly were Kane and Wade Donnan, Thomas Cox, Max Cahoon, Ryan O’Sullivan and Jackson McMahon.

Koby Hommelhoff, Robert Fawcett, Trevor Rumbold, Boe Bish, Morgan Fawcett and Josh Grabowski worked hard for the red and blue.

Birchip-Watchem racked up 41 scoring shots in its clash with St Arnaud at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

The Bulls charged to a 55-12 lead by quarter-time.

Four goals as it held the Saints to a major in the second meant Birchip-Watchem led by 62 points at half-time.

In a dominant second half the Bulls slammed on eight goals in the third and another four in the last.

The Saints were goalless in the final hour as the Trevor Ryan-coached Birchip-Watchem won 161-22.

A 10-goal haul by Ben Edwards lifted his season tally to 71.

Marshall Rippon capped a best on ground performance with five goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Bulls were Joseph Reid, three; Sean Hogan and Nicholas Rippon, two.

Goalkickers for the Saints were Josh Hicks, Torin Petrie and Zac Phillips.

Best for the Bulls were Marshall and Nicholas Rippon, Joseph Reid, Sean Hogan, Angus Butterfield and Ben Edwards.

Zac Phillips, coach Scott Driscoll, Thomas Bertalli, Daniel Gifford, Jake Male and Owen Lowe worked hard for the Saints against the unbeaten Bulls.

Boort had the bye.

North Central senior footy ladder:

Birchip-Watchem 227 per cent, 42 points; Sea Lake Nandaly 229, 40; Donald 108, 26; Wedderburn 121, 22; Nullawil 92, 20; Wycheproof-Narraport 86, 20; Boort 85, 18; St Arnaud 39, 4; Charlton 37, 0.

Highlight of next Saturday’s 13th round will be the top of the ladder showdown between Sea Lake Nandaly and Birchip-Watchem at Sea Lake Oval.

Charlton will be back on home turf at Charlton Park to take on Wycheproof-Narraport.

Boort and Wedderburn clash at Boort Park.

St Arnaud faces Nullawil at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

Donald has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

71 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

33 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

33 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

30 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

28 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

25 Trent Grant, Donald.

24 Joseph Reid, Birchip-Watchem.

21 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

21 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

19 Nicholas Grabowski, Wycheproof-Narraport.

19 James Keeble, Boort.

19 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

17 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

16 Blake Grant, Donald.

15 Ethan Coleman, Boort.

14 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

13 Daniel Bell, Birchip-Watchem.

13 Noah Berry, Donald.

13 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

13 Lachy McClelland, Sea Lake Nandaly.

13 Tyson McKenzie, Sea Lake Nandaly.

13 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

12 Max Cahoon, Sea Lake Nandaly.

12 Ty Colbert, Birchip-Watchem.

12 Will Perryman, Boort.

12 Rylee Smith, Nullawil.

11 Josh Grabowski, Wycheproof-Narraport.

11 Maysen Murgov, Wycheproof-Narraport.

11 Torin Petrie, St Arnaud.

11 Brody Weir, Sea Lake Nandaly.

10 Darcy Jackson, Wedderburn.

10 Wayne Mitrovic, Wycheproof-Narraport.

10 Josh Potter, Donald.