NCFL Round 3 Review


Bulls, Tigers mark big victories

ROUND three in the Goldacres senior footy in the North Central FNL was marked by big wins by Birchip-Watchem and Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers.

The unbeaten run for the Bulls and Tigers kept rolling.

Birchip-Watchem took on St Arnaud on the Saints’ turf at Lord Nelson Park.

An eight-goal haul by Ben Edwards was among the highlights for the Bulls in 109-38 victory.

The Trevor Ryan-coached were down 8-15 at quarter-time, but hit back to win the second term, 27-13.

Birchip-Watchem led 59-36 at a quarter to play and then slammed on 8.2 to just two behinds in the last term.

The Bulls’ attack was led by Ben Edwards, eight; Nicholas Rippon, three; Daniel Bell and Darcy Reid, two.

Leading goalkicker for the Saints was Josh Caddy on two.

Best for Birchip-Watchem were Nicholas Rippon, Daniel Bell, Lachlan Ryan, Marshall Rippon, Meyrick Buchanan and Joseph Reid.

Harley Durward, Zac Phillips, coach Scott Driscoll, Ryan Lempa, Kurtis Torney and Daniel Gifford were best for the Saints.

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers dominated play on their turf at Sea Lake to beat Wycheproof-Narraport by 119 points.

The Tigers scored 19 goals and kept the Demons to a tally of 1.6 (12).

Billy McInnes led the SLN attack on five goals as Max Cahoon and Lachy McClelland added three each.

Will Allan was the sole goalkicker for the Demons.

Best for the Tigers were Thomas Cox, Wade Donnan, Jack Poulton, Brody Weir, Angus Collins and co-coaches Billy McInnes and Bryce Delmenico.

Was a tough afternoon for the Wayne Mitrovic-coached Demons.

Best for the red and blue were Boe Bish, Josh Walsh, Maysen Murgov, Will Allan, Jack Marlais and Chris Cox.

Donald kicked away in the last quarter to beat Nullawil by 39 points.

The Royals were down 59-63 going into the last quarter.

Inspired by the play of Ryley Barack, Todd Stevenson and Daniel Pearce, Donald slammed on 8.2 to 1.1 in the last.

At the final siren the Donald line-up led 109-70.

After finishing runner-up in ’23 and appointing Darryl Wilson as coach, Nullawil is winless.

Donald’s attack was led by Blake Grant, Trent Grant, coach Josh Potter and Ross Young on three goals each.

Mitch Farmer booted three goals for Nullawil.

Best for Donald included Dale Kerr, Andrew Browne and Dyson Bell-Warren.

Nullawil’s best were Jordan Humphreys, Matt Quigley, Mitch Farmer, Matt Wade, Rylee Smith and Zachary Caccaviello.

Victory in three of four quarters meant Wedderburn took the points on Charlton’s turf.

The Tom Metherell-coached Wedderburn led 37-12 at quarter-time before the Navies fought back to win the second, 20-12.

A 17-point buffer for the Redbacks at the long break was 38 at a quarter to play after they scored 4.3 to a goal in the third term.

Anthony Zelencich kicked a match-high four goals for Wedderburn and had great support from Tom Campbell, three, and Oscar Holt, two, in a 98-42 result.

Leading goalkickers for Charlton were Nick Thompson, three, and Ben Lanyon, two.

Best for Wedderburn were Jayden Jones, Jackson McEwen, Oscar Holt, Darcy Jackson, Tom Campbell and Tom Metherell.

Tyler Feshler, Ben Lanyon, Rhyen Woods, Patrick Soulsby, Jed Thompson and coach Mitch Collins played well for the Navies.

Boort had the bye.

Standings in the Goldacres senior footy competition in the North Central FNL:

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 213 per cent, 12 points; Birchip-Watchem 212, 12; Wedderburn 180, 8; Donald 96, 8; Boort 102, 4; Wycheproof-Narraport 64, 4; Nullawil 70, 0; Charlton 43, 0; St Arnaud 38, 0.

The clash of ladder leaders Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers and Birchip-Watchem at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval highlights Saturday’s fourth round.

Wycheproof-Narraport is back at Wycheproof to tackle Charlton.

Nullawil will be desperate to break its season duck when it hosts St Arnaud.

Wedderburn and Boort clash at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

Donald has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

23 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

10 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

9 Trent Grant, Donald.

8 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

8 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

8 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

8 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

7 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

7 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.